Gluten-Free

Gluten-free goodness.

Gluten is the protein commonly found in wheat, rye, barley and oats and needs to be removed from some people’s diets.

Gluten is common in items made in mainstream bakeries, but the substance also sneaks into foods you wouldn’t suspect, such as soy sauce or licorice. Remember that “wheat-free” doesn’t necessarily mean “gluten-free”!

Some people eliminate these items from their meals as a personal preference, but most — like those with coeliac disease — must follow a strict gluten-free diet because it’s imperative to their health.